Often asked: &Quot;Insular” Southeast Asia Refers To Which Of The Following Locations?

What is insular location of the Philippines?

The Philippine Islands are located between 116° 40′, and 126° 34′ E longitude and 4° 40′ and 21° 10′ N latitude and is bordered by the Philippine Sea to the east, the South China Sea to the west, and the Celebes Sea to the south.

What does Southeast Asia refer to?

Southeast Asia, also spelt South East Asia and South-East Asia, and also known as Southeastern Asia or SEA, is the geographical southeastern subregion of Asia, consisting of the regions that are south of China, south-east of the Indian subcontinent and north-west of Australia.

Which of these countries is part of insular Southeast Asia quizlet?

Which of these countries is part of insular Southeast Asia? Indonesia and the Philippines. The signature feature of insular Southeast Asia is its island environment. Indonesia is made up of about thirteen thousand islands, while the Philippines has about seven thousand islands.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Where Is Asia?

What are mainland and insular countries of Southeast Asia?

Malaysia is both mainland and insular, with a western portion on the Malay Peninsula and an eastern part on the island of Borneo. Except for the small sultanate of Brunei (also on Borneo), the remainder of insular Southeast Asia consists of the archipelagic nations of Indonesia and the Philippines.

Why is Philippines an insular country?

The Philippines were acquired from Spain by the United States in 1898 following the Spanish–American War. The term “insular” refers to the fact that the government operated under the authority of the U.S. Bureau of Insular Affairs. Puerto Rico and Guam also had insular governments at this time.

What is the insular location?

INSULAR LOCATION. refers to the location of a place in relation to the bodies of water near it. refers to the location of a place in relation to the landforms or land masses near it.

How many countries are in Southeast Asia?

Southeast Asia is composed of eleven countries of impressive diversity in religion, culture and history: Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

What is the culture of Southeast Asia?

Buddhist culture has a lasting and significant impact in mainland Southeast Asia (Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam); most Buddhists in Indochina practice Theravada Buddhism. In the case of Vietnam, it is also influenced much by Confucianism and the culture of China.

What is Asean and why is it important for Southeast Asia?

The ASEAN Declaration states that the aims and purposes of the Association are: (1) to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavors in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: What Was Traded Between Africa And Asia?

Where is population density the highest in Southeast Asia?

Sumatra and Java have the highest population density.

What tectonic plates are present in Southeast Asia?

This complexity derives from the fact that Southeast Asia is situated at the junction of four major tectonic plates ( Eurasian, Indian–Australian, Pacific, and Philippine Sea ) with a few smaller microplates, and therefore its geological evolution is strongly related to diverse plate tectonic activity.

What is the old name of Indonesia?

Formal Name: Republic of Indonesia (Republik Indonesia; the word Indonesia was coined from the Greek indos—for India—and nesos—for island). Short Form: Indonesia. Former Names: Netherlands East Indies; Dutch East Indies.

What countries are in insular Southeast Asia?

Insular Southeast Asia is composed of the following six countries: Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, East Timor, and the Philippines. Mainland Southeast Asia is composed of five countries: Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam.